ST Forum:Personal consultant says: 'Consumers should understand the immense pressure we are facing.' - Singapore Forums by SGClub.com
Singapore Forums by SGClub.com
Sitemap Contact Us FAQ Singapore Forums by SGClub.com
Home Photos Member List Register Mark Forums Read SGCShop  
Go Back Home > Lifestyle > International & Singapore News » ST Forum:Personal consultant says: 'Consumers should understand the immense pressure we are facing.'

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2008, 11:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Account Suspended
richardsng_era will become famous soon enoughrichardsng_era will become famous soon enough

Credits: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ST Forum:Personal consultant says: 'Consumers should understand the immense pressure we are facing.'

http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BFor...ry_284367.html

I REFER to the current market situation of Lehman Brothers' bankruptcy which led to the DBS High Notes burst recently. I am a personal financial consultant in a local bank. There are some factors I feel must be revealed to protect consumers' rights.

First, banks usually state that there is seldom or no misrepresentation of products sold, and products are usually recommended based on consumers' needs. A financial needs analysis and fact find are usually done to ensure consumers have sufficient funds and a real need for the product. The fact is that we often face pressure to sell certain products so as to hit our sales target.

Take me, for instance. I am a fresh graduate from the National University of Singapore. I have a nine-month contract with a local bank, but I was told, if I did not pass probation in six months (hitting sales target), I would be asked to leave and pay the $3,000 bond.